Out with the old…

thinking
habits
laziness
year.

Yes, it’s a pejorative thought, but it’s fact on December 31st that I feel compelled to look at how I can make my life better, realer (realer, really?), more fulfilling, honest, life-like.

So there’s the old stand by goals – loose weight (seriously, this is getting a bit out of control), eat healthier, exercise regularly…

But this year I’m also adding a few new items – take care of my skin better since I’ve reached that age where my skin isn’t taking care of itself anymore. It NEEDS to be washed before bed, moisturized twice a day, weekly masks, loads of water EVERY day.

I’m also committing to a photo a day project to be posted once a week because I can’t commit to editing photos every day, and in 2014 I took as many pictures in total as I took in an average week in 2013. And it shows, so it’s time to polish up those creative skills and put my cameras to work.
So, I don’t think I’m going to have one overarching theme for the year other than just at least one photo a day. Sometimes they may be selfies (ugh, that word) or maybe I’ll do a theme for a month or a photo challenge – the point is to tune up my creative eye and abilities so that I can support my over all goal of living life instead of existing through it.

To support the creative side of me I’m also taking on a reading goal of 26 books this coming year. 52 just is too much for me to honestly do with school and well, life.

Also, I’m going to write a few times a week, and when I do write I’m not going to do it in my bed or on the couch, I’ve cleaned off my desk, put in a power adapter for the laptop and I’m going to make good use of that space.
In an ideal world I’ll find myself writing five days a week, but I’ll will consider it a success if I can average three times a week (this will not include posting my photos each week).

And possibly the most important goal for 2015 is that I need to get a new job. I’m not trained enough to think I’m ready to move into my intended lifetime career, yet, but it’s time to move toward that goal in more ways than just getting educated. While my current job is paying the bills (most of the time), but it’s not fulfilling and in many ways it drains me and stops me from getting ahead in my life, so it’s time to move on. This goal is priority one.

Leave a Reply

