Been gone so long…

And I’m not going to make excuses for it.

I simply needed to do what I needed to do, I was in a funk and had to work it out before I could really be authentic about what I write and what I share. So I did, and now I can.

A quick catch up – – – really general, not at all covering everything in the last few months of course:

I slept A LOT. For about two months all I did was sleep and work. It was unhealthy but I couldn’t find the energy to even fix the lack of energy. I’m doing better now, and have been for a little while, but still I have made an appointment with a doctor to find out what’s going on. I suspect it’ll turn out to be something to do with my thyroid. Fingers crossed it’s not worse than that.

Work. It’s been hard, but it’s getting better. I have been offered a new position that’s more my speed, but it’ll be a while before I get to reap the benefits of it though because they have to fill my current position before they can move me into the new position full time. Once they do though I should be working 4 days a week instead of 5 so I should be able to get back to school as well as simply having more time to do fun things. And my job will be more behind the scenes so I don’t expect that I’ll be so emotionally exhausted at the end of the day because I won’t be constantly in a public space like I am in my current position. For an introvert like me that’s huge!

Family. Ugh. Things aren’t improving there at this point, sadly. Dad’s Alzheimer’s has progressed significantly. Mom’s overwhelmed but not ready to accept help. And a couple siblings have their own things going on that have added to Mom’s stress levels, which in turn adds to mine – I can’t really say more on those situations though because they’re not my stories to tell. Suffice it to say that they’re both choosing sad paths and none of us have been able to help.

Getting my house in better shape – it’s about even between the good and bad on this one. I’ve made progress, but I wish I could report that I’d made further progress than I have. Letting go of the hard & fast goal line has been a good thing though, so now I don’t have a end date but I do just expect myself to do some each week. And this is working for me. I have a long way to go before I can say I’ve gone through and organized all the “stuff” in my house, but the progress I’ve made has been more in depth than I really thought I’d be able to do in a first pass through getting rid of crap.

One thing I have kept up with through these last few months has been my reading goal – I’m ahead of schedule to finish 52 books before the end of 2016. It hasn’t been easy, but it has been enjoyable. I think I’ll set another reading goal for next year, but it won’t be as high a goal since I’ll be back in school (fingers crossed).

Anyhow, I’m going to go read before going to sleep.

Good night.

 

Leave a Reply

